Intervju från igår

Justin Bieber has 10 minutes. The biggest little pop star in the country is in a car, en route to an airport in New York City. After a couple of weeks of trying, I've finally snagged precious phone time to talk about his sold-out RodeoHouston debut alongside Disney star Selena Gomez (who Bieber calls “one of my good friends”).

The Sunday show will play to 70,000-plus fans and likely shatter a few records.

Not too shabby for someone discovered on YouTube, where Bieber's mom posted grainy videos of her pre-teen son singing popular R&B hits.

Bieber's new disc, My World 2.0, is online and in stores Tuesday, a follow-up to last year's million-selling My World.

The new material is edgier and more mature: the electro-bump of Somebody to Love, the pleading Stuck in the Moment, the doo-wop swoop of U Smile, the Prince-by-way-of-Usher-inspired Up.

First single Baby with Ludacris is his first top 5 hit. (He'll also perform April 10 on a Tina Fey-hosted episode of Saturday Night Live.)

We talked about the 16-year-old superstar's new music, his dominance of Twitter and traveling to Texas:

Q: This seems like a crazy time. What's been the biggest obstacle?

A: Everything's challenging, but I still gotta do it. Waking up early is definitely a task for me. I'm not a morning person.

Q: RodeoHouston is going to be massive. What's the most people you've played for to date?

A: The biggest I think was, like, 20,000. So 70,000 — that's a big number, man. Wow. That's crazy.

Q: What pops in your head when you hear the word “rodeo?”

A: I think about cowboys. I think I might ride in on a horse.

Q: Do you deal with nerves or stage fright at all?

A: I don't really get nervous. It's just something that I love to do.

Q: My World 2.0 is different from its 2009 counterpart.

A: I wanted to do something that was a little bit more R&B and that could reach out to everyone. I just wanted to be able to show my vocal abilities. Up is one of my favorites on the album. I like everything about it.

Q: You're heading out on a massive tour this summer. What can fans expect?

A: I want to show that I love to perform. There are going to be some cool tricks, some electronic things that haven't been seen before, for sure.

Q: How does it feel to be the king of Twitter? Your name is a daily trending topic.

A: It's pretty crazy to think about and just to have all the fans' support. Everything's just been wonderful.

Q: My World 2.0 pairs you with Ludacris, Sean Kingston and you've worked with Usher (who helped sign Bieber to a deal). Who's your next dream duet partner?

A: I would love to work with Beyoncé. She's super-hot. She is gorgeous. She has a great voice. She's an excellent performer.

Q: What's been the coolest thing you've been able to do?

A: Probably perform for the president (Obama). And I got to present at the Grammys, which was amazing.

Q: Texas is newish territory for you. What do you know about the Lone Star State?

A: Chuck Norris. The answer is Chuck Norris. Never ask the question — because the answer is Chuck Norris


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
Här kan du läsa om allt från hans succé inom musikvärlden till var han har köpt sina skor!
Vi som driver bloggen heter Jasmine och Lina och vi båda är 15 år unga :)
Om du har något önskemål, någon fråga eller kanske vill göra ett länkbyte - maila då: [email protected]!
Take care goregous, /J.B.F

Om

Min profilbild

RSS 2.0


bloglovin